Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

‘The place God calls you is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.’ -Frederick Buechner

I did not expect to be going back to Asia within months of my last trip abroad with the Red Thread Team, but this afternoon I will be flying back around the world to spend the next 5 weeks in India and Nepal!

For five days, I will be in Mumbia, India! Then, I will be going by train across the Indian border into Nepal, where I will spend the month of April living with the girls at the safe house the Red Thread Movement helps to support; I cannot wait to see my dear friends there again! I have traveled abroad quite frequently over the years, but this trip to Nepal will be my first overseas experience as the sole American. I am looking forward to truly embracing the Nepalese culture, and I will have my trusty Nepali phrase book on hand at all times!

I would like to especially thank all of my personal supporters for this trip: you are a blessing and great encouragement to me, and I would not have these opportunities without you! I would also like to thank Plum Creek Community Church for their support and the Abilene Christian University Honors College for supporting me, as one of their Honors students, on this trip and for their support of the Red Thread Movement on ACU’s campus.

I welcome anyone reading to follow me over the next five weeks on this new adventure, and I look forward to sharing many stories and experiences with you as I go!

‘Let your eyes look directly forward, and your gaze be straight before you. Ponder the path of your feet; then all your ways will be sure.’

-B

About redthreadmovement

The Red Thread Movement is a student initiative partnering with Eternal Threads to combat sexual slavery in Nepal. View all posts by redthreadmovement

Leave a Reply

