Merchandise Monday: Break the Chains Bracelet

Image

The Red Thread Movement is expanding our product line to include products made by rescued victims of human trafficking not only from Nepal but from other countries around the world.

Consisting of leather, beads, and colored thread, the Break the Chains bracelets are made by young Mongolian women who have been rescued from sexual slavery. This bracelet in particular was designed by a young rescued woman. Wear it as a symbol of your resistance against the trafficking of young women worldwide.

Purchase yours today at Red Thread’s online store.

This is a story from Abby Youngblood’s research (originally posted on Eternal Threads’ Facebook page) about one of the women making the bracelets in Mongolia:

“My character has changed so much since my old life. I used to be very loud and aggressive with a hard heart and character. Even my voice used to be like a man. It has been almost 3 years since I first came to Streams. I have been working with jewelry for a year and 5 months… I can now make things with my hands. I am so thankful to be here. My life has changed. I really have peace and satisfaction in this work. When I am here, I am fed spiritually.”

The type of sexual abuse she experienced in her “old life” was traumatizing. However, her time in this project has made healing possible for her.
About redthreadmovement

The Red Thread Movement is a student initiative partnering with Eternal Threads to combat sexual slavery in Nepal. View all posts by redthreadmovement

Leave a Reply

